Why I Walk

Shortly after being diagnosed with diabetes in1997, I participated in my first American Diabetes Association Walk to Cure Diabetes. We had a small team, my parents, sister and friends (Morgan and Sarah and Jessie) . It was fun and I loved the support and encouragement I got from my family and friends. The next walk I signed up for was in 2003. A few months before walk day I was diagnosed with neuropathy and found myself wheelchair bound. Feeling discouraged I decided I did not want to participate. My sister ( a senior  in high school) would not allow this to happen. She gathered her friends and our family to join a team called Kim’s Crusaders. On walk day we had over 20 team members and they took turns pushing me in a wheelchair ( and almost dumping me a few times). I don’t remember how much money we raised that year but that was not important to me. I was blown away by my community.

image

Since then I have done walks for both JDRF and ADA.  I get emotional on walk day thinking about the original Kim’s Crusaders. I walk for them. I walk for my sister. Because when my hope was gone, hers was not.

On some walk days I am able to walk and other times I am there to be a cheerleader. Fundraising is tough and I’ve appreciated every single donation throughout the years! Diabetes is a disease where I feel like I can’t do anything to stop it or fight it. Fundraising allows me to feel like I can contribute. We all just want to feel like we are making a difference in this fight. AND WE ARE! Just look at the fact that Yesterday Medtronic announced FDA approval of a hybrid closed-loop system!

I just want to say thank you to my sister Ashley. You have helped me and inspired me to keep walking (in any capacity).

Mid you would like to help me reach my goal this year please donate below:

http://www2.jdrf.org/site/TR?fr_id=6348&pg=personal&px=1579259

 

Leave a Reply

