I am THAT Aunt…

Yesterday a fellow PWD confided in me that she didn’t want to be somebody’s “Aunt who lost her foot because of diabetes.” It got me thinking… I am THAT Aunt.  GULP!

Seriously, I am the Aunt whose kidneys failed because of diabetes.

I am the Aunt who is blind from diabetes.

I am the Aunt who can’t feel her feet because of diabetes.

I am the Aunt who almost lost her toe because of diabetes.

BUT… I am more than that. I refuse to let that be it!

When my nephews talk about me I want them to say “Oh my Aunt Kimmie had diabetes. Unfortunately she was blind in one eye BUT she didn’t let that stop her. She went to Africa and pet a cheetah.”

When my parents talk about me I want them to say “Oh my daughter has diabetes and had a kidney transplant but she didn’t let that stop her. She traveled and went paragliding through the alps.”

When my friends talk about me I want them to say “Oh my friend Kim has diabetes and almost lost her toe. She didn’t let that stop her. She traveled in a boot but still managed to kiss a dolphin.”

So yeah, I am THAT relative, THAT friend, THAT person with diabetes… but I am more than that. For every negative trial diabetes has put me through, I can match with a more positive thing I have done because of it.

You can too.

8 thoughts on “I am THAT Aunt…

  1. You are amazing and that is already how I talk about you. Someone who is inspirational to everyone and an amazing friend! You never let anything stop you from having adventures. AND (this is a big one for me) my mom thinks you are courageous and wonderful too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

