Happy 18th Birthday Diabetes!

It is crazy to think that 18 years ago today I was anxiously waiting for an afternoon appointment with an endocrinologist. I knew I was there because I had diabetes but what did that mean? I was 15 and up until that point the only thing I knew about diabetes was that Stacy from the Babysitter’s Club books had it and that my maternal Grandfather had died from complications of diabetes (type 2). I am not sure I really allowed myself to feel emotions about my diagnosis in those early months. I remember it upset me more that I could not play field hockey for a few weeks while I learned the ins and outs of diabetes management.

Wow, 18 years. It is almost like my diabetes is an adult now. There is much truth to that statement. My diabetes now is not the same as my diabetes then. I am not the same now as I was then. Being diagnosed with a chronic illness has brought so much joy and sadness into my life. I have learned a lot about myself. Diabetes has pushed me to take risks and experience so many amazing things. It has also caused me pain. Physical pain and emotional pain. My diabetes has not aged gracefully.

So, I know what you are asking yourself… “What can I get Kim’s Diabetes for it’s birthday???” I will make it really simple for you. This year I am participating in the JDRF Walk. I would love it if you would choose to do one of the following:

  1. Join your local JDRF Chapter walk.
  2. Join ME and my team on September 27th in Manchester at our walk
  3. DONATE to me or my team: http://www2.jdrf.org/site/TR/Walk/NorthernNewEnglandBranch4366?px=1579259&pg=personal&fr_id=5399

I would love to see a cure in my lifetime. The past few years have brought so many amazing advancements in diabetes management but it is not enough. I feel like the damage is done to my body but I do not want others to have to suffer in this way. Please help me make the lives of my friends and future people who have this diagnosis better.

And Happy 18th birthday diabetes. I hope my wish comes true.

Leave a Reply

